Sunflower – Part II – small stone Jan 21

20120121-210713.jpgI woke up to you,
transformed by the alchemy of night
that twisted and turned you,
laid you flat, splayed open
with nothing left to hide.
All along I thought it was the light
that held the magic, the power
but you have shown me
that to be deepened and darkened,
embraced by Hekate, that lunar spirit,
goddess of night,
is what it truly takes
to come alive.

4 responses to “Sunflower – Part II – small stone Jan 21

  1. I really like this stone, Shanee, so poetic and wise! Without the darkness, we are not whole.

  2. Thank you, Shanee. It is so helpful, right at this point in my life, to be reminded that it is the darkness, rather than the light, that truly shapes our character as human beings. I feel I am even now being “splayed open with nothing left to hide”, and it’s so good to keep that image of the sunflower in my mind. Jo

  3. So glad it is helpful Jo, I guess it is being able to be in both the light and the dark, perhaps not one more than the other…?

Leave a Reply

