Silence

Together in a silence
that holds a worry
about the absence of talk,
that holds a preference
in difference to the prevailing
speak;
not always companionable.
At times it shrieks
inside my head, giving orders
I cannot obey.
Silence is golden
talk is cheap.
Solitude and writing have become
my conversationalists,
is anything lost,
or gained for those we guide,
for those we love,
when words are sparse
and silence holds us all?

8 responses to “Silence

  1. Good to read your words in the silence again. Hope you will continue to write. Your poetry connects me to times past and holds me in the present.

  2. Reblogged this on yasniger and commented:
    really nice

  3. Your poetry is the touchstone I needed today. These words are food for the soul. Keep writing Shanee…your beautiful gift is appreciated more than you know.

  4. Your poem is music to my ears and I am listening….in the silence.

  5. I am reposting on Napkinwriter.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

